Before I started to write this, I was thinking it wasn’t the best year for books for me. But then I came up with a terrific list of five in about five seconds, so there you have it. It was a great year in reading!

So, in no particular order…..

1. Wild  by Cheryl Strayed  

 I love adventure memoirs and this one has so much heart. Mesmerizing.

2. NW by Zadie Smith 

I found it uneven (the sole male narrator was particularly undeveloped) but the authenticity of the female voices blew me away. Plus, very few books make me want to go back to the beginning and start reading again.

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn 

This one is on so many lists, I don’t have much to add. This is the book I told everyone to take on vacation this year.

4. The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary by Andrew Westoll 

I just finished this last night! This is Andrew Westoll’s account of the months he spent as a volunteer at a sanctuary for chimps retired from biomedical research. The book is heartbreaking, but also fascinating and inspiring. Check out this video to learn more and then buy the book! http://www.andrewwestoll.com/

5. The Blondes by Emily Schultz 

One of the most original books I’ve read in a while! Smart satire at its finest. Can’t wait to chat about this one with The Vicious Circle in January.

Now, you tell me—what did I miss?

The_blondesNwWildGone_girlChimps_of_fauna_sanctuary

