I don’t know if these are the “best” books of 2011 but they are my favourites. I was going to do a list of five, but I couldn’t cut one. So six it is!

1. The Sisters Brothers  by Patrick DeWitt             

This Ain’t Your Mother’s Book Club is doing this in January, and I hope they love it as much as I did. It’s Cormac McCarthy-ish, but with more humour.

2. Blue Nights by Joan Didion

This book is unflinchingly honest and gut-wrenching. I pretty much read it in one sitting. Then I hugged my kids tight.

3. The Devil All the Time by Donald Ray Pollock

This isn’t for everyone, but I just loved it. Brilliant writing, gritty, nasty goodness, this is.

4. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

This is one of the best bios I’ve ever read. You don’t need to be a tech freak for this to be a completely compelling read  You can also read it for the business insight from a true visionary.

5. Natural Order by Brian Francis

This is a beautiful book that I will never forget. And if you’re the mother of a little boy as I am, it’s particularly resonant.

6. The Antagonist by Lynn Coady

This is another book I read it just a couple of sittings (I can’t say that about many books these days). Witty, funny, fierce coming-of-age story.

So there’s my list. Now tell me yours!

Steve_jobsAntagonistBlue_nightsDevill_all_the_timeNatural_orderSisters_brothers

